Charged with Sexual Assault in Houston?
Sexual assault is a serious offense. This is especially true when a child is the victim. If you or a loved one was accused of such an offense the consequences are dire. The best recourse for situations like these is to seek legal counsel.
Continuous Sexual Assault/Child & The Law
Under section 21.02 of the Texas Penal Code, a person commits the offense of continuous sexual assault of a child if:
(1) during a period that is 30 or more days in duration, the person commits two or more acts of sexual abuse, regardless of whether the acts of sexual abuse are committed against one or more victims; and(2) at the time of the commission of each of the acts of sexual abuse, the actor is 17 years of age or older and the victim is a child younger than 14 years of age.
Sexual Abuse Defined
“Sexual abuse” includes all sexual contact, so if you are accused of two acts of sexual contact with children at least 30 days apart, you may be charged with continuous sexual assault.
Penalties for Continuous Sexual Assault/Child
The penalty for continuous sexual assault, if the State can prove it, is between 25 years and life in prison. If you get charged with continuous sexual assault, everything is at stake.
We Are Experienced Defense Lawyers
If you need an experienced criminal law attorney to defend you in this bet-your-life area of criminal litigation, call Bennett & Bennett at 713.224.1747.
Bennett & Bennett is led by Houston criminal-defense attorney Mark W. Bennett, a prominent attorney who is often cited in various news outlets when matters enter his realm of practice.
Attorney Mark Bennett is Board Certified in Criminal Law per the Texas Board of Legal Specialization and is the former president of the Harris County Criminal Lawyers Association. If you need to talk with our legal team about your case don’t hesitate to reach out to us.