Theft Offenses

Criminal Penalties for Theft in Texas

Class C Misdemeanor

Class C Misdemeanor is the criminal classification for thefts in which the value of the item(s) was less than $100.00. If convicted in the Harris County Court, the criminal penalty isn’t jailable, but does carry a fine of up to $500.00.

Class B Misdemeanor

Class B Misdemeanor is the criminal classification for thefts in which the value of the item(s) was more than $100.00, but less than $750.00. If convicted of the offense, the criminal penalty includes a potential Harris County jail sentence of up to 180 days and a fine of up to $2000.00.

Class A Misdemeanor

Class A Misdemeanor is the criminal classification for thefts in which the value of the item(s) was more than $750.00, but less than $2,500.00. If convicted of the offense, the criminal penalty includes a potential Harris County jail sentence of up to 1 year and a fine of up to $4,000.00.

State Jail Felony

State Jail Felony is the criminal classification for thefts in which the value of the item(s) was more than $2,500.00, but less than $30,000.00. If convicted of the offense, the criminal penalty includes a potential Texas state jail sentence of up to 2 years and a fine of up to $10,000.00.

3rd Degree Felony

3rd Degree Felony is the criminal classification for thefts in which the value of the item(s) was more than $30,000.00, but less than $150,000.00. If convicted of the offense, the criminal penalty includes a potential TDCJ sentence of up to 10 years and a fine of up to $10,000.00.

1st & 2nd Degree Felony Theft Cases

1st & 2nd Degree Felony criminal classification is reserved for thefts in which the value of the item(s) was more than $150,000.00 (Second Degree Felony) or more than $300,000 (First Degree Felony). If convicted of the offense, the criminal penalty includes a potential TDCJ sentence of up to 20 years in prison for a Second Degree Felony, and up to life in prison for a First Degree Felony.